Feeling the special

Generations of women precious to Him: My niece, sister, mom, and me.

Generations of women precious to Him: My niece, sister, mom, and me.

I wish every girl, every woman could read this. Not because it’s poetic—it’s not—but because it poured out of me. You see, I’m burdened: This world of ours is crushing us. We feel ordinary, shamed, worthless.

But when we see that God treasures us—us!—darkness lifts. And Light rushes in. A young woman recently asked, “How could God enjoy me? I’m a huge disappointment. I always feel the guilt. How do I feel the special?”

Here you go, sweet sister:

You know you’re special when He smiles your way. When He not only likes you (a lot) but loves you (forever). When He wants to be close and calming:  “The Lord is in your midst….He will rejoice over you with gladness; He will quiet you with His love” (Zephaniah 3:17).

You know you’re special when the world’s voice fades. When Truth is louder than lies. When shouts of “not good enough” are weak, when whispers of “good through Me” are strong. When you and He fly above the noise: “[Jesus said], ‘The enemy comes to steal, kill and destroy. I came to give life and give it abundantly’” (John 10:10).

You know you’re special when the past is forgiven. When He takes your sin and pays the debt. When He forgets it, heals it, even uses it. And when you finally grasp that sin doesn’t define you; grace does: “Draw near with a true heart sprinkled clean from a guilty conscience and our bodies washed with pure water” (Hebrews 10:22).

You know you’re special when He gives you a purpose. A higher reason to be here. A passion for the good things, the important things. When He gives you a chance to love through words, to serve through sacrifice: “The LORD will fulfill His purpose for me; Your steadfast love, O LORD, endures forever” (Psalm 138:8).

You know you’re special when He’s lifted high. When the thought of His glory leaves you breathless. When speaking with Him leaves you awestruck. When you realize that Holy I AM pursues your fragile self: “Not to us, O Lord, not to us, but to Your name goes all the glory for Your unfailing love and faithfulness” (Psalm 115:1).

Please, worthy daughter, choose liberating Truth. Take off the world, embrace the special. Through Jesus Christ our Lord.

***************************************

Any ad appearing under this post is placed by the blog provider and not by Ava Sturgeon.

7 thoughts on “Feeling the special

  1. Valerir says:

    Hi,my name is Valerie…i am a new born again Christian…ever since I gave mylife to Christ 2 years ago,has been the best decision I ever made,besides going back to College and graduating..My reason for me writing,is that im struggling with doubt&my faith in God.This may sound craxy,but im inlove with God,and I didnt realize it until a few months ago…He gives me signs along with.confirmation,letting me know,He belives my love&desire for Him..and the enemy works hard on me,to put fear,doubt,anxiety,and has a way of me questioning my faith in God…Satan had me years ago mentally,thats where I was super weak and still struggling to have control..i broke free from the claws of the enemy..and now,he’s working 10x harder to get me…i refuse! I need help in know God’s word&promises he made to me,and speak it over myself to rebuke the devour..im a struggling Christian,who want nothing more the to please God and have a stronger and established relationship….if you can guide me into that direction,to where leah towards Spritual disipline….Thank you…

    • worthydaughters says:

      Hi, Valerie! Did you see my reply to your comment under the blog “When God Has a Plan?” Just making sure you know it’s there. I’m proud of you for having the determination to follow Jesus even when it’s not easy. You aren’t backing down and shriveling up; instead, you’re “bowing up,” deciding with your head and heart to plunge forward regardless of fears, emotions, or past hurts. But how do you go about doing this? My first thought is Ephesians 6:10-20. Please read this passage over and over, asking God to help you understand exactly what He’s saying. In essence, we are fighting against evil, but with the right battle gear on, we can win. Here are some ways I’ve had victory over Satan: 1) Read something in Scripture every day. A great place to start is the book of John. Or the Psalms. I ask God to help me understand what it’s saying, and I read verrryyy slowly, sometimes just a few verses. Then I write down what it’s saying and how this helps me know God better or serve God better. 2) I talk with Him throughout the day, asking Him to help me see needs and to see Him. 3) Get into a Bible study with at least one person and meet weekly to discuss the things of God and to pray for each other. It’s crucial that you have support. In essence, Valerie, God wants to grow you up in three areas: Head knowledge about Him (through Bible study, sermons, etc.), heart devotion (through prayer, praise music), and hand service (through helping others). Ask God how you can develop each area. He will show you. 🙂 In Christ, Ava Sturgeon

      • Valerie Campbell says:

        Thank you so much Ava..I am not affraid..i need eactly what you said, and i shall and will do just as you said…im believer….you just gave me ecouragement, in ways it took affect immediatley…you are a women of Christ..who loves Him…and im trying to get where you are, in my pace that God has set for me..I just want to be where He is..For His Glory, ill do anything…..Thank you so much Ava!! xo

    • worthydaughters says:

      Thank you, Michelle! For a whole day the phrase “you know you’re special when…” filled my brain. I believe God wrote this for me. Most times a blog take 4-6 hours for me to write. This was done within two. 🙂

  2. Rachael says:

    Thanks Ava! I need reminders often to make the choice to live under grace instead of leaving myself under the law. xx

Leave a Reply

