He didn’t run

cross twoI don’t cry a lot. Last week during The Bible series, though, one scene got me. If you were watching along with 80 million viewers, you saw Jesus praying in the garden, heartbroken and burdened. Then soldiers burst in to arrest Him, to take Him away. And Peter went nuts.

Now I know Peter’s next lines weren’t in scripture, but they sure sounded like something he’d say. After all, at this point he was fiercely loyal to Jesus. (Remember the Roman ear removal?) So I wasn’t surprised when Movie Peter screamed the following words:

“Run, Jesus! Jesus, run!”

I’m telling you, hearing the desperation in Peter’s voice, I lost it. Maybe because I got it. In that moment, with everything in me, I wanted to protect my Jesus too. I wanted to spare Him what was coming, from evil and shame and death. I wanted Him to bolt for the nearest exit. Run, Jesus! Jesus, for Heaven’s sake, run!

But He just stood there. Without saying a word, Jesus let them take Him away like a lamb to the slaughter.

Even now, I can’t get this scene out of my head: How ironic that Peter tried saving the Savior. And how beautifully strange that what Peter hoped Jesus would escape—evil and shame and death—are the very things Christ was about to spare Peter. And spare me. And every follower who’d ever live.

Part of me still wishes Jesus had run. Oh, how I love Him! Oh, how He deserved better! But most of me is grateful He didn’t. So it’s a bittersweet Good Friday, when my willing Savior died. I weep for His suffering. I cry for those not embracing the gift. But there are joyful tears, for sure. Thanks to Jesus for our hope! Praise the spotless Lamb! And praise the Risen Lord!

***********************************************

“He was oppressed and treated harshly, yet He never said a word. He was led like a lamb to the slaughter. And as a sheep is silent before the shearers, He did not open his mouth. Unjustly condemned, He was led away….But it was the Lord’s good plan to crush Him
and cause Him grief….The righteous servant will make it possible for many to be counted righteous, for He will bear all their sins.”           
(Isaiah 53:7-11).

*****************************************

Any ad appearing under this post is placed by the blog provider and not by Ava Sturgeon.

2 thoughts on “He didn’t run

  1. Becky Baldwin says:

    I love him to, every time I watch Passion of the Christ I lose it. I’m not talking simple weeping or even crying, it’s like deep sobbing into hysteria. I cry so hard I feel like my insides are going to come out! I praise him though because had he not gone to the cross, I would be in bad shape!

Leave a Reply

