Hope when you’re hurting

carinal oneHey, you, the one who’s hurting. The Jesus follower who’s heartbroken, disappointed, or confused. I know how you feel. In fact, I’m in a dark place myself. But even in this sadness, one truth shines bright: Our loving God is with us, and He will see us through.

Last month, someone I love got really sick. Our family prayed for the best, but things kept going downhill. So where was God during this storm? Well, as a friend assured me, “He’s all over that hospital room. I’m praying you see His face, up close and personal.” Not surprisingly, the Lord was faithful.

It’s hard to explain, feeling calm in the dark. It’s tough to comprehend, crying your eyes out while still believing God is good. But that’s who we are. That’s who we are in Him. We face pain with supernatural peace, thanks to the Spirit. And we heal with supernatural strength, thanks to the promise of Scripture.

So how can your teary eyes find God in the sadness? Here’s a soothing secret: He’ll find you, often in the most personal, unexpected ways:

God puts your name on people’s hearts. As my father-in-law lay dying, it was a private family matter. So imagine my surprise to hear from believers with a sudden urge to pray. One friend left a meeting to be alone and call out our names. The other lives across the country, and we’ve never even met! But God knew our hearts were breaking, so He called on spiritual warriors to hold us up.

God fills the room with His presence. I’d love to share what happened as we watched our loved one trade his tired body for a new one. It’s just too tender to tell. But please know that as we prayed for Jesus to come quickly and get my sick father-in-law, He did. In that moment, the air was thick with Holiness—An undeniable, comforting realization that we were not alone.

God sends sweet reminders. My father-in-law loved bird watching. Cardinals, to be exact. After his funeral, we returned to find a dozen bright red birds feeding in the yard. They never even budged! Oh, how we smiled: Even the creatures of nature declared God’s hope! This is the Savior, the One who provides our needs. The One who holds us close.  And the One who can pour out joy through twelve tiny birds.

**********************************************

“The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” Psalm 34:18

************************************************

Any ad appearing under this post is placed by the blog provider and not by Ava Sturgeon.

3 thoughts on “Hope when you’re hurting

  1. Jaime Kutz says:

    Thank you for this. My mother passed away suddenly less than 2 weeks ago. This has been the hardest thing I’ve ever gone through but I can honestly say God has been good, and kind and has never left me alone!

    • worthydaughters says:

      Jaime, I am so, so sorry for the loss of your mom. Please know I am praying for God to heal your broken heart one minute at a time, bringing you comfort and wisdom. I pray He is sweet to you, intimate and doting in a way you’ve never experienced. He is faithful, and I know He’ll take good care of you, my sister. In Christ, Ava Sturgeon

  2. Renee Michael says:

    Today has just been overwhelming for me. It’s been 2 months since my Dad went home to be with Jesus…I miss him soooooo much….2 months since I lost my home to water damage, and 2 months since my oldest got married and moved out. Life and Death are never easy, but thankful for a God who gives us the hope that we will in fact spend eternity with them and that material things just don’t matter in the grand scheme of things. Thank you for posting this today.

Leave a Reply

