Angel wings and truth

pretty-young-girlMy heart is heavy when girls believe the lies. Some of them I once swallowed myself, and they went down bitterly, harmfully. A steady diet of “I’m not good enough” or “I’m not pretty” was damaging. It was junk food for my brain, and it hurt. Most lies do.

Last night was sad proof that deceit still lingers. A TV special aired, an annual show of underwear and angel wings. Within minutes, young women posted the following Facebook comments:    

  • “I’m never eating again. Did you see Miss February?”
  • “When I look down, nothing on me looks like anything on them.”
  • “If my boyfriend doesn’t stop drooling, I might cry.
  • “Are these real women? If they are, then I ain’t one.”

As I scrolled through the newsfeed, frustration overwhelmed me. Why would vivacious, smart girls fall victim to insecurity? Or feelings of insignificance? I fought the urge to reply, “I’ve got a bigger secret than Victoria’s: THIS is not the standard of beauty. No need to compare, unless you’re listening to the enemy. And he is a liar. CHANGE. THE. CHANNEL!”

I didn’t post it, but prayers for young hearts were plentiful. Then this morning, refreshing Truth filled my head. Here’s some for you to chew on as well, straight from scripture. (And by the way, I’d trust God’s wisdom over a drooling boyfriend’s every time!)

1)   God, I praise you for making me with tender respect and awe. Everything you create is special,  including me. (Psalm 139:14)

2)   Lord, you don’t care about outer things. You look at the loveliness of my heart, so I pray you see me as beautiful. (1 Samuel 16:7)

 3)   Father, good looks don’t last, and I can’t trust people’s flattery. But you find eternal worth in my devotion. (Proverbs 31:30)

 4)   Jesus, you don’t want me obsessing over appearance. You prefer the inner beauty of a gentle, quiet spirit. And you’ll help me cultivate the beauty you desire. (1 Peter 3:3-4)

If you’re starving for acceptance or hungry for value, cute underwear won’t do the trick. (No surprise, I’m sure.) Neither will attentive boys or perfect bodies. The answer I’ve found is in God’s idea of beauty. And in His unchanging love. So come on to the table and get your fill. Truth be told, He satisfies.

******************

Any ad appearing under this post is placed by the blog provider and not by Ava Sturgeon.

2 thoughts on “Angel wings and truth

  1. Ashley says:

    I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE what you said!!!! Nothing can be compared to th Love of God and the inner beauty he gives to all us women. I will admit how much I cannot stand those kind of commercials, but I know who I am in Christ Jesus. I am happily married, and just had our 4th year anniversary!!!! Its God that has kept us together, and still keeps us going strong. With out Jesus in our life and marriage we would and could not make it. Im so thankful for Jesus. What you are doing for us young women is a wonderful blessing from God. I try to do the same for younger girls then me, and those of my age to with God’s help!! God Bless!!

Leave a Reply

