Girl thanks

Young women in my life have come and gone. And I’m thankful. Thankful they love me but more thankful they love Jesus. As I think about the faces who’ve come to my house year after year for Bible study, the ole heart is full. Here’s a glimpse at why I’m bursting:   

A few ladies from Bible study hang out in the kitchen before we dig in to Philippians.

I am thankful for girls who read their Bibles. For girls who underline every passage we discuss. I’m thankful for high achievers who color code verses with neon markers (encouragement passages in yellow—cheerful, you know). And I’m thankful for those who open Scripture for the first time.

I am thankful for girls who notice. For girls who pour drinks before I ask. Who take time to chat with my supportive husband. I’m thankful for those who see the new girl and fold her into the group. And for those who embrace the lost one coming home.

I am thankful for girls who grow. For girls who ask questions—especially tough ones. I’m thankful for head knowledge and heart devotion. For those who serve and then receive more than they give. I’m thankful for light bulb moments that not only flicker but burn steadily, brightly, invitingly.

I am thankful for girls who pray. For girls who trust me with their private requests. I’m thankful for bowed heads, bent knees, and sweaty palms when we hold hands. I’m thankful for texts that say, “How can I pray for you?” And for texts that start with, “Praise Jesus! He has answered!”

I am thankful for girls who leave. For girls who walk out the door with smiles and hugs. For those who take their faith across the world, across the hall. I’m thankful for those who listen and obey, no matter where God leads. For those who outgrow me, move on, move up. And I’m thankful they never leave my heart.

************************************

My thanksgiving prayer for every young woman: “Let your life be worthy of the gospel of Christ, so that whether I come and see you or am absent, I may hear that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind striving side by side for the faith of the gospel” (Philippians 1:27).

********************************

Any ad appearing under this post is placed by the blog provider and not by Ava Sturgeon.

Leave a Reply

