Holla hallelujah

Keep praying, sisters. Just keep praying. When you’re exhausted, when you’re doubtful, when you’re weary of waiting, please don’t give up. Pray.

A young woman I know has one request: Her parents don’t know Jesus. So day after day, week after week, Lori prays for them. And day after day, week after week, she invites them to church. But they don’t join her. Ever.

“Will you pray for Mom and Dad?” she asked. “They’re not interested in Jesus. They’re sick of me bringing Him up. But this I know: Whether it’s a song or sunset or words from a stranger, God can make Himself known. Let’s pray He shows up big.”

So I have been for three years. Lori has prayed even longer. She remembers being eight and wishing they would read a Bible story or say grace before meals. Back then, her prayers were simple: “Help Mommy and Daddy love Jesus.” And God heard her request.

“Pray without ceasing…” (1 Thessalonians 5:17).

Last month, out of nowhere, I got a text in all caps: “MOM WAS READING MY BIBLE TODAY. SHE’S SO BUSTED, LOL!” I couldn’t believe her words! What in Heaven’s name brought this on? 🙂 Immediately, our prayers amped up: “Lord, you’re working. Help both parents crave Truth and find it. Remove every obstacle so the hope of Christ shines bright.” And God heard our request.

“Pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying…” (Ephesians 6:18).

Three days ago, Lori sent this: “Happy tears! When I walked into church, guess who was there? They CAME! My eyes are puffy hideous, LOL. But God is real and He hears and He loves my parents. HOLLA! That’s the new hallelujah, FYI. Start using it, k?”

Well, Hallelujah Holla! I’m still ecstatic, but the best is yet to come. Can you feel it too? Any day, I expect a text starting with “Guess what?” and ending with “They know Him now!” Pray with me, sisters. Just keep praying. When we’re exhausted, doubtful, or  weary from waiting, let’s don’t give up. Father God hears our prayers. And I’ve seen Him answer.

“In the morning, O Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation” (Psalm 5:3).

******************

Any ad appearing under this post is placed by the blog provider and not by Ava Sturgeon.

5 thoughts on “Holla hallelujah

  1. lbtaylor says:

    Began praying for my Father when I was 11. The summer I turned 18 he gave his heart to Jesus. I thought I would never see the day. Even when I had given up, God remembered the prayers of a little girl. So excited by Lori’s continual faith and perseverance. Praying alongside her!

  2. Valerie says:

    Crying now. My dad has severe late-stage dementia and is in a dementia ward. I know the Lord can reach him where he is–the Lord is the only One who can.

    We’ve been praying for him for many years. Last week they called because kidneys are really bad–talking about hospice.

    Friday they called because they wanted me to come over feeling like it’s a death watch–he hadn’t been able to drink, not eating. I went over after work and held his hand and prayed. I sang “O How He Loves You and Me” and “Wonderful Merciful Savior”. He was in bad shape.

    Saturday I took my mom and sister to see him–night and day–he was eating and drinking–still very weak and diminished, but the Lord isn’t through with him yet.

    The Lord has spared my dad’s life a number of times over the past decade–clinging in faith.

    Praying too. 🙂

    • worthydaughters says:

      Valerie, the thought of you singing “O How He Loves You and Me’ gave me goosebumps. I know your dad heard in his spirit, and I know the angels were singing along with you. The picture of your faithfulness during this time of sorrow makes me know that God is real. He is sustaining you, using these terrible cicumstances for a testimony of love and strength. I don’t know you, but I love you. And I am praying. ~Ava Sturgeon

Leave a comment