Anything can happen!

Dear Lord,

As I think about the day ahead, anything could happen! It could go beautifully, with everything falling nicely into place (that would be amazing, by the way). Or sunset could find me in tears, suffering the frustrations of an imperfect world (this doesn’t excite me much, to be honest). Or, as most days go, there might be some of both over the next twenty-four hours. But no matter what’s about to happen, Lord, here is my prayer to you:

Please guide all my thoughts and words, all my actions and reactions, all my strengths and weaknesses as you work through me today. As your daughter, my biggest desire is the chance to share your love. Help me trade my selfishness for compassion, and make my ears sensitive to your whispers of opportunity. If I’ll simply look and listen, you’ll give me wise advice for a hurting friend, a warm smile for a lonely stranger, or the sudden answer to a lingering problem. And that’s just scratching the surface, Lord; the opportunities are endless!

To make this day count, though, I must be ready for Satan and his traps, including fear, insecurity, and busy-ness. When he tries to distract me, I’ll remember that he’s simply threatened, Lord, because through you, I’m making a real a difference to a struggling world. It’s warfare, plain and simple! Those arrows and lies are all around, but you are greater than the enemy. You have already defeated darkness, and your blinding light shines in me. Praise your name! And praise this new day!

So help me, Father. Use me. Keep me thinking of your Word and relying on your voice of truth. Nudge me in the right direction–no, PUSH me! Make my armor strong if need be, but at the same time, keep my heart soft and tender. Lord, anything can happen today. And because you are in control, I thank you in advance, sight unseen, for this wonderful day about to unfold.

Love forever,

Your grateful daughter

******************************************************************************************************

“This is the day that the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it” (Psalm 118:24).

Leave a Reply

