So worth the wait

How good are you when it comes to waiting around? On a typical day, is “patience” in your vocabulary? Let’s say some friends are dropping by at 8:00 to pick you up. Suddenly it’s 9:15, and you haven’t heard from them. Agitated yet? Or maybe you’re waiting to hear from a college application or job interview. After days, or even weeks, nothing. How ya feelin’ now?

I work with lots of young ladies, and for the record, they are NOT the most patient people in the world. Sweet, yes. Full of life, absolutely. But able to wait calmly on God’s take-His-sweet-time-plan? Not their strongest trait. (Or mine, either.) No matter how we feel, though, sometimes the right thing to do is easier said than done: Wait.

If we truly believe that God’s plan is best, then why would we nervously bite our nails or lie awake with anxious hearts? Just the other day, I heard a pretty revealing statement: “How we act shows what we believe.” Ouch. Yep, saying I trust the Father’s timing doesn’t mean much when my nail-chewing, no-sleeping self suggests otherwise. Waiting patiently and confidently is a much better approach. In fact, it’s downright Biblical!

So how can a daughter of God be happily patient? Well, she must realize that waiting can be an awesome scenario. Here’s what Psalm 37:7 says: “Be still in the presence of the Lord and wait patiently on Him to act.” Did you notice the upside of hanging out with God? Being with Him–spending unrushed time in prayer and Bible reading–makes waiting a pleasant experience. (I mean, really, how can you be thinking about your problems when God is with you in the waiting room?) And besides that, He promises to take action, so you can relax knowing that even now, He’s working behind the scenes!

What exactly is God’s purpose in making you wait? For starters, He wants the perfect future for you, and sometimes the timing is not right: Maybe you need a few experiences under your belt, or perhaps He’s concocting a better plan than you ever imagined! What’s more, waiting helps us remember God’s patience with us. Can you even imagine how often He’s waited for a little appreciation? Or obedience? 2 Peter 3:9 says that “the Lord is not slow about His promises…but is patient toward you….” Thank you, God! Oh, Father, help me be patient as I wait on your promise of the perfect plan. And help me understand that you are always worth the wait.

“Make me know your ways, O Lord; teach me your paths. Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the day” (Psalm 25:4-5).

5 thoughts on “So worth the wait

  1. Kathryn Price says:

    Amen! I need that. I tend to forget these kind of things too often making it much harder on myself. Thank you for sharing your heart, Ava!

  2. Kristina says:

    Thank you for sharing Mrs. Ava!! Im glad you started blogging, you always say things that I need to hear at just the right time! So glad that God put you in my path, you truly are a blessing!! I for one really need to work on being patient, I always find myself freaking out about tests or gettin really nervous in a waiting room… next time ill pray to calm my anxiousness! Love you

  3. Lorraine says:

    You know, i saw this add for a daughters worth, and i thought, “that looks pretty cool,” so i click. And then i see a link to this page, and on it is this blog, a perfect one for what i am going through right now. Im always so fed up with wondering what His plan is and if he’s even planning (even though i know he is). But i keep wondering. I realize that i need patience, but i only realize that now because of an add. And i see it’s the random things that God show me that amaze me. So thank you for your blog today, you have saved me!

  4. Jordan Smith says:

    this is so timely (haha) Mrs. Ava. the LORD has been teaching me lately that i have got to be more disciplined about that still, unrushed time with Him, which is SO much harder in college than in high school.

    thank you!

Leave a Reply

